Toronto Dora Awards Winners

The winners of the 2010 Dora Mavor Moore Awards were announced last night, with Parfumerie taking home the prize for best production.

The romantic comedy won two other Dora's--directing honours for Morris Panych and best costume for Ken McDonald.

The event was hosted by Jian Ghomeshi at the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts yesterday evening. The Dora Awards are in their 31st year, honouring the best in stage and performance arts.

The award for outstanding new play went to Courageous, a show about gay marriage at Toronto City Hall. Best male actor in a principal role went to Diego Matamoros in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and best lead actress went to Tara Rosling for If We Were Birds.

The venerable Louise Pitre won the award for best female performance in a musical for her role in The Toxic Avenger Musical, and the male prize went to Jeff Lillico in The Light in the Piazza.

Also honoured at the ceremony were Philip Akin, who won the Silver Ticket Award for his contributions to theatre, and Lokki Ma who won the Pauline McGibbon Award for most promising emerging artist.

For more information, as well as the full list of nominees, check out the Dora Awards' website.

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

Join the conversation Load comments

Latest in News Flash

What's open and closed Remembrance Day in Toronto 2016

Vote for your favourite photo of Nuit Blanche 2016

What's open and closed Thanksgiving Monday in Toronto 2016

What's open and closed on Labour Day 2016 in Toronto

Do you want to create video for blogTO?

What's open and closed on Simcoe Day 2016 in Toronto

What's open and closed on Canada Day 2016 in Toronto

What's open and closed Easter Monday 2016 in Toronto