This should be invisible

2023 ontario stat holidays

These are the stat holidays in Ontario for 2023

Stat holidays in Ontario for 2023 are mostly the same as previous years. Currently, there are no days off in lieu if the stat holiday falls on a weekend.  

Here are the stat holidays in Ontario for 2023:

  • Monday, January 2 (in lieu of New Year's Day falling on a Sunday)
  • Monday, February 20 (Family Day)
  • Friday, April 7 (Good Friday)
  • Monday, April 10 (Easter Monday. Many businesses are also closed on this day, however, it is not an official stat holiday)
  • Monday, May 22 (Victoria Day)
  • Saturday, July 1 (Canada Day)
  • Monday, September 4 (Labour Day)
  • Monday, October 9 (Thanksgiving Day)
  • Monday, December 25 (Christmas Day)
  • Tuesday, December 26 (Boxing Day) 

Monday, August 7 is a Civic Holiday. While it is not an official stat holiday, employers may decide to give their employees the day off. 

National Day for Truth and Reconciliation falls on September 30 and while it's not technically a stat holiday in Ontario either many employers give their staff a holiday on this day as well.

Lead photo by

Jack Landau


Join the conversation Load comments

Latest in City

Toronto doctor legitimately prescribes patient a real-life puppy

Ontario paramedic in tears during final radio call after 40 years on the job

GTA police chopper films unreal takedown of robbery suspects near Toronto

Ontario teen breaks record with giant $48 million lottery jackpot

Toronto now threatened by dangerous winds in addition to extreme cold weather

Video shows what feels like typical chaos of riding a TTC streetcar in Toronto

Someone wants to rebrand the TTC amid widespread negative public perception

Lake Ontario expected to see icy waterspouts caused by Arctic cold system