Tech
Get Your Phreak615 On
Updated @ 12:32 PM, 16 April, 2008
So what's the deal? For the last couple of weeks, there have been little snippets of "pirate" video sneaking their way into MuchMusic television broadcasts, which has people all abuzz wondering if someone is actually hacking into a live broadcast.
Credit for the "heist" is being taken by one Phreak615, who is telling the world how brilliant he is in his own blog, literally referring to himself as "the second coming." He claims to play guitar in a band called The Nunnery, but they appear to be the only local act without a MySpace page.
So, how does one hack into a televised broadcast? According to Phreak615, you have to have access. That's right; it's an inside job. "I have direct access to our digital media server," he boasts in his blog, allowing him to hack in with a WIFI laptop from his car when he's not at work.
If this guy's for real, I'd think Much would have a fairly easy time rooting him out. How many tech savvy young men have direct access to the server and aren't at work when the "hacks" occur? There can't be that many.
Of course, I'm sceptical: this is likely some relatively clever viral marketing campaign for some relatively stupid product that'll soon make you wonder why you ever go online. I'm also suspicious why Blogger, owned by Google, would allow a blog documenting criminal activity by the criminal mastermind himself. If he were the genius outlaw he claims to be, why isn't he on a site hosted in a country where investigators wouldn't be able to subpoena his records?
If this guy is for real, then the tech people at Much are even dimmer than their on-air personalities (and that's saying a lot), and Phreak615 needs to say something other than "Hey everybody, look at me!"
Whether he's legit or not, I guess Phreak615 has given Much some much needed relevance; a reason to watch if only to see where he'll turn up next. Who knows, maybe you can be watching when the hoax is unravelled and we find out what they're trying to sell us.
I'm guessing it's an energy drink. What's your guess?
Update:
For more information on the theory put forward by Adam in the comments, watch this video:
Oh, obscene finger gestures from such a pristine girl!
She's referring to a theory put forth in the comments on this page, stating that the whole thing is likely a plug for a new reality show set to air on June 15 (615). Mind you, this is pure conjecture of a journalism student, and not the result of any concrete investigation, but I wouldn't be surprised if they weren't far off the mark.
Have they got it all figured out? Is there anything worth figuring out? Go figure.


Discussion
52 Comments
Sort By Oldest First / Newest First
Subscribe
If this guy were a "hacker", wouldn't he know to use private domain registry instead of public? Or is the domain registry info full of fake info or more clues?
Google searches for the name listed and address listed have me thinking they're fake details (no valid results). And the contact phone number connects to Bank of Montreal. LOL.
But let's pretend it is legit, that's a good reason right there for MuchMusic to not stop him: Something is actually happening at muchmusic for once! Think of the publicity! It's like the test pattern for the Truman Show: highest ratings ever.
Guess <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hackers_(film)">Zero Cool, Crash Override, and Acid Burn</a> were already taken.
I feel like such a puppet.
Hack the planet! (Hot damn I love that movie)
(that movie is one of my guilty pleasures. Still have it on VHS. Hack the planet!) :P
I also hope MuchMusic doesn't own any oil tankers because if the Da Vinci virus is loose...
If this is a viral marketing ploy, and MuchMusic is behind it, do they run the threat of legal action being taken against them? Is registering a domain with false information legal/illegal/grey in Canada? Is registering a .com domain with Canadian company who uses a US registrar a loop hole?
Or can anyone legally register domains under fake identities without any repercussions?
If MM owns any tankers, hopefully someone will save the day with their 'high tech' 28.8 bps modem.
<a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phreaking">http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phreaking</a>
This Much Music crap is very reminiscent of the Max Headroom incident that happened in Chicago. That, however, was legitimate. This, doubtful.
<a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Headroom_pirating_incident">http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Headroom_pirating_incident</a>
Vid: <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWdgAMYjYSs">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWdgAMYjYSs</a>
We know what phreaking is, and it's already been established that Phil Reaking is the fake name used to register the domain.
Don't assume everyone knows what you know. It's not so obvious to others if you missed these choice quotes
'I think the biggest tip off is that he called himself "Phreak615". I mean, there aren't a lot of other people called "phreak" breaking into television broadcasts are there'
'Following up on that bogus who.is info, it would appear "phreak" is a contraction of the "hacker"'s "real" name, Phil Reaking.'
Stoners are so funny when they're disseminating on large media corps and their viral marketing campaigns.
I'd say they're 90% - 100% right.
"The end of MF phreaking in the lower 48 United States occurred on June 15, 2006."
Also the domain name registration is fake. Its registered to Phil Reaking... PH Reaking... Phreaking.
Though the number left there leads to a Ms. McDougall at a Communications company.
If that's the case do they have some kind of immunity if this is just an academic/research thing, or could someone's professor end up in jail over this?
From Shannon's post above, I'd say it's working.
http://diggreponsitory.blogspot.com/2008/04/phreak615-broadcast-hacker-or-muchmusic.html
This is just a blatant marketing stunt but you at least have to admit it is good marketing, its got all us talking ;-)
Oh and "RISK is good"
no, because if he was actually hacking into the switcher like the blog says, then the hack would go to tape along with the rest of the show.
Shannon and the other stoner's voices ring loud:
http://s290.photobucket.com/albums/ll250/thereal5seconds/?action=view&current=stonerfu3.flv
Second, even if they are stoners, they've accomplished a Hell of a lot more than you have or ever will.
What they say may not be 100%, or it may not even be close, but it's a very valid theory, which they've taken the time and effort to convey meaningfully. You wasted your time making some uninspired and incredibly moronic "cartoon" that serves no purpose than to make you look like a douchebag.
Bravo.
Stoners: 1
You : - 10000
Don't shoot the messenger.
do you know what's happening on June 15th 2008?
The Annual MMVA's. That's What.
Do you know what June 15th 2008 is in MM/DD/YY?
6/15/08
Sound familiar? Mr. Phreak615.
615...is 6/15...the day of the MMVA's
the site www.blogspot.com/phreak615 or whatever is owned by Strategic Sourcing Communications.
SSC is a partner of Rogers Communications.
Rogers owns CHUM, which is Much Music.
Nice try Much Music.
<a href=http://www.greendoc.net/view/356569/dont_take_the_children_to_the_cinema>Don't Take The Children To the CInema</a>