The Election

Theatre Passe Muraille presents a Common Boots Theatre Production in association with Nightwood Theatre and Theatre Direct

Written by Natasha Greenblatt & Yolanda Bonnell with the Company

Directed by Jennifer Brewin

Cast: Augusto Bitter, Rachel Cairns, Joelle Peters, Anand Rajaram, Rose Stella, and Courtenay Stevens

Following the wildly successful run of The Public Servant, Common Boots Theatre delivers a provocative and hilarious investigation of how Canadians engage in democracy.

In 2015, a group of theatre makers infiltrated the Canadian Federal Election as volunteers for three major political parties and documented their interactions. Exploring the intersection of Indigenous, Settler and Newcomer experiences with the political process, The Election sparks urgent dialogue just as Canadians are about to take another swing at the ballot box. With a live vocal score, this play asks: Do we have a voice and does that voice count?

The Election was developed with the support of Studio 180 Theatre and the Banff Playwrights Lab.

Photo by John Lauener.

Showtimes:

Wednesday October 9// 7:30PM (Preview)

Thursday October 10// 7:30PM (Preview)

Saturday October 12//7:30PM (SOLD OUT - Opening Night)

Sunday October 13//2:00PM (PWYC)

Tuesday October 15// 7:30PM (PWYC) (Captioned Performance)

Wednesday October 16// 7:30PM (The Prelude)

Thursday October 17// 7:30PM (Post-Show Talkback)

Friday October 17// 7:30PM

Saturday October 19// 2:00PM (PWYC) (Captioned Performance)

Saturday October 19// 7:30PM (Captioned Performance)

Sunday October 20// 2:00PM (PWYC) (Post-Show Talkback) (Relaxed Performance)

Tuesday October 22// 7:30PM (PWYC) (Touch Tour)

Wednesday October 23// 7:30PM (Post-Show Talkback)

Thursday October 24// 7:30PM

Friday October 25// 7:30PM (Post-Show Talkback) (Touch Tour) (Captioned Performance)

Saturday October 26// 2:00PM (PWYC) (Touch Tour)

Saturday October 26// 7:30PM (Touch Tour)

Sunday October 27// 2:00PM (PWYC)


The Election

Leaflet | © Mapbox © OpenStreetMap Improve this map