ALERT: Please be advised that due to COVID-19 the events section is not currently being maintained. Events listed here are likely rescheduled or canceled and new submissions will not be approved.

School Girls; Or, The African Mean Girls Play

Written by Jocelyn Bioh, Directed by Nina Lee Aquino

Produced by Obsidian Theatre in association with Nightwood Theatre

March 5-24, 2019 at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre (12 Alexander Street)

Paulina, the reigning Queen Bee at Ghana’s most exclusive boarding school, has her sights set on the Miss Universe pageant. But the mid-year arrival of Ericka, a new student with undeniable talent and beauty, captures the attention of the pageant recruiter — and Paulina’s hive-minded friends. Jocelyn Bioh’s buoyant and biting comedy explores the universal similarities (and glaring differences) facing teenage girls across the globe. How far would you go to be Queen Bee?

New York Times Critic's Pick

Nominated for 4 Lucille Lortel Awards

Nominated for 4 Drama Desk Awards

Showtimes:

MARCH 5 – 24, 2019

Tuesday, March 5 // 8:00 PM (Preview)

Wednesday, March 6 // 8:00 PM (Preview)

Thursday, March 7 // 8:00 PM (Preview)

Friday, March 8 // 8:00 PM (Opening Night)

Saturday, March 9 // 8:00 PM

Sunday, March 10 // 8:00 PM

Tuesday, March 12 // 8:00 PM

Wednesday, March 13 // 8:00 PM

Thursday, March 14 // 8:00 PM

Friday, March 15 // 8:00 PM

Saturday, March 16 // 2:30 PM

Saturday, March 16 // 8:00 PM

Sunday, March 17 // 2:30 PM

Tuesday, March 19 // 8:00 PM

Wednesday, March 20 // 8:00 PM

Thursday, March 21 // 8:00 PM

Friday, March 22 // 8:00 PM

Saturday, March 23 // 2:30 PM

Saturday, March 23 // 8:00 PM

Sunday, March 24 // 2:30 PM


School Girls; Or, The African Mean Girls Play

Leaflet | © Mapbox © OpenStreetMap Improve this map