Saturday, August 23, 2014Cloudy 20°C
Books & Lit

International Festival of Authors: Broken Social Scene, the Future of Cycling, Michael Ignatieff, the New Yorker and a Peep Show

Posted by Maria Cortellucci / October 22, 2009

International Authors Festival DanboWriters from around the world have swung into town for the return of The International Festival of Authors, which once again brings an impressive array of all things literary to Toronto. This year's festival -- which started yesterday and runs until November 3rd -- jumps on the rebrand-wagon with a new sobriquet in celebration of its 30th anniversary: "IFOA XXX."

...Um, I'd be careful when you google that. Pretty sure it's NSFW.

20091021-IFOAedit2.jpgOpening IFOA XXX at the Fleck Dance Theatre last night was the much lauded Canadian short story writer Alice Munro in conversation with the renowned publisher Diana Athill. And, no doubt, that was a wonderful way to inaugurate the festival (especially if you're an English teacher!). But if you missed this event, not to worry -- there's plenty of others to excite your inner reader.

It seems as if IFOA XXX wants to spice up it's image this year. In addition to the usual round of events -- including readings by Scotiabank Giller Prize, Governor General's Literary Award and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize finalists -- this year's fest is introducing licensed happenings that start at 10 p.m. WOOOT, alcohol!

THe Peep Show Hal NiedzvieckiThis Friday evening, for example, I'm checking out Toronto writer Hal Niedzviecki explore the pervasiveness of "peep culture" in an interactive social media extravaganza called the Peep Show. I'll probably stick around afterward, when Toronto's own dirty disco rockers Foxfire hit the Brigantine Room's stage.

Broken Social SceneThe next night, I'm planning to catch pop culture columnist Stuart Berman talk about his novel, This Book is Broken: A Broken Social Scene Story, with actual members of the city's darling indie collective. The Toronto Star's music critic, Ben Rayner, will act as moderator and Jason Collett is also going to perform.

Cycling enthusiasts will find Cities, Bicycles and the Future of Getting Around worth checking out on Saturday October 24, at 1 p.m in the Fleck Dance Theatre. Now's your chance to ask former Talking Heads frontman-turned-author David Byrne, NDP leader Jack Layton, urban theorist Ken Greenberg and local bicycle advocate Yvonne Bambrick for advice regarding Toronto's bike lanes...or lack thereof.

Liberal Leader Michael IgnatieffI'm looking forward to talking more politics with Liberal party leader and smarty pants author Michael Ignatieff as he reads from his new non-fiction offering, True Patriot Love, on Sunday, October 25 (also in the Fleck Dance Theatre). Following the reading, the editor of The Walrus , John Mcfarlane will interview him, hopefully with questions more substantial then "how do you pronounce your last name?"

While I feel it necessary to let you know that "I-knew-graphic-novels-were-cool-before-they-became-blockbuster-movie-fodder," it's important to note that so did IOAF. The fest has been using graphic novelists in its program since 2004. Check out this interview of famous New Yorker cover creator R.O. Blechman & Palookaville comic book series cartoonist Seth (yes, in the vein of Cher, Madonna and God, that's one name only) by Seth Rogers on Saturday, October 31 at 12 p.m. in the Brigantine Room. Bonus: it's hosted by Peter Birkemoe, co-owner of my favourite "alternative" comic book store in the Annex, The Beguiling.

There's so much more to discuss, including a mini Ontario touring programme, a piping good tribute to Scottish authors, and a young authors fest. But you can find out for yourself by checking out the schedule. (Don't forget to pay mind to the random visual art exhibits set up in the York Quay Centre depicting less racy IFOA's of the past.)

FYI, IFOA XXX offers free tickets to full time students (get 'em while supplies last!).

Not a student? Read on for another way to get your hands on free tickets.

CONTEST:
Win a copy of Stuart Berman's Broken Social Scene tell-all This Book is Broken (specially signed by BSS members!), a pair of tickets to an exclusive IFOA event featuring Berman, Brendan Canning, Kevin Drew and Jeffrey Remedios, and two BSS CDs (a $100 total value).

The event takes place on Friday, October 30 at 10pm in the Lakeside Terrace (235 Queens Quay West). The book has been generously donated by House of Anansi Press and the BSS CDs have been generously donated by Arts&Crafts.

TO WIN:
Watch our Twitter feed today. The contest question will appear there, and the first person to correctly answer the question by commenting on this here blog post wins. Please use a valid email address on the comment form, so we can contact you with prize claim details. Must be an Ontario resident.

Top photo by aggie_sai, Alice Munro and Seth photos courtesy of readings.org, Broken Social Scene photo by mattbraga, and Michael Ignatieff photo by Radey Barrack.

Discussion

7 Comments

Lu Galasso / October 22, 2009 at 09:55 am
user-pic
Hahaha david Byrne and Jack Layton talkin about cyclist policy. Maybe Byrne can sing 'road to nowhere' when its all said and done.
Laura Brady / October 22, 2009 at 10:37 am
user-pic
Stuart Berman
Bryan Feheley / October 22, 2009 at 10:38 am
user-pic
Stuart Berman
paul / October 22, 2009 at 10:39 am
user-pic
Stuart Berma
Jerrold replying to a comment from Laura Brady / October 22, 2009 at 10:39 am
user-pic
Wow, that was lightning fast. Laura wins! Watch for an email from us soon, detailing prize claim. Cheers.
paul / October 22, 2009 at 10:39 am
user-pic
hahahahahha - too fast - and you made me forget the 'n'
Laura Brady / October 22, 2009 at 10:43 am
user-pic
Hooray. Now I'd better get some work done....

Add a Comment

Other Cities: Montreal